Benefits of Coconut Oil for Dogs

When I posted my homemade dog food supplement video I mentioned I would be telling you about the benefits of the ingredients that I incorporate into my doggie smoothie.. Well here is the first – COCONUT OIL…It has many benefits for dogs including helping with thyroid problems, weight,  fighting allergies, fighting infections, improving coat, managing or preventing diabetes, fighting skin cancer, improving doggie breath and odor, relieving arthritis and sooo many more.. Many of the same reasons that humans should take coconut oil daily. In addition, coconut oil can also be used as a topical treatment used to disinfect scrapes and cuts.  It also promotes wound healing and improves overall skin and hair condition. I use it on my senior’s dry nose and it is much improved!

You need to pay attention to the quality of the coconut oil.. (I use virgin, organic) and start with 1/4 tsp for small dogs and 1 tsp for big dogs and increase to the appropriate amount. Mine are 60lb and 74lbs and get around 2 tbsp. a day.. Most recommendations propose 1/4 tsp per 10lbs of weight.

If you have a three minutes, see why Dr Becker recommends coconut oil for dogs…

Leave a Reply

